Nani Marquina’s 10 favourite things

Nani Marquina, photograph by Albert Font.
From exotic escapes to comfortable shoes, acclaimed Spanish textiles designer Nani Marquina shares her 10 favourite things.

1 Desert trips
I love the desert and how it makes me feel; my favourite desert movie is Bernardo Bertolucci’s The Sheltering Sky. This is me in the Atacama Desert in Chile.

Butterfly chair beside a nanimarquina 'African House' rug.

2 The ‘Butterfly’ (or ‘BKF’) chair
I like it for its intelligent symmetry and its concept of simplicity and elegance. I have one in my house in Barcelona.

3 Lydia Delgado
I like the way [the Barcelona-based fashion designer] unites austere simplicity with a very feminine ornamentation. I love her coats as they remind me of the 1960s, and I connect them with the actress Audrey Hepburn.

Shibuya crossing. Photograph by Y. Shimizu.

4 Tokyo
It amazes me how the city’s traditional sensibility coexists with its technological aesthetic. I’ve been to Tokyo about five times. My favourite place is Shibuya crossing; the noise and lights paralyse me and I always love watching people there.

5 Chanel make-up
The packaging, the quality; I’ve been using this brand for 15 years.

6 The food of Ferran Adrià
I went to his restaurant El Bulli twice and the first time was an incredible experience; I had the opportunity to enter the kitchen and watch the chefs at work. My favourite dish is the foie broth; an experience of taste and visual sensations.

7 Fundu Lagoon beach resort in Pemba Island, Zanzibar
It’s right in the middle of a jungle on the shores of the Indian Ocean. I feel the force of nature here, tranquility and a sense of isolation. In particular I remember the profile of boats against purple sunsets.

8 Camper shoes
I have owned Camper shoes and boots since its first store opened in the early 1980s. I like them for their comfort and philosophy of being designed for walking around the city.

9 The perfume of jasmine
I discovered jasmine in India, where they would make jasmine necklaces during the holidays. I also like Issey Miyake’s L’Eau d’Issey, which has essences of jasmine.

10 Isamu Noguchi ‘Akari’ lights
Although they are made of paper, a very traditional material in Japan, they seem to be illuminated sculptures. Their light creates a very warm ambience. I have several at home.

Leave a Reply

